The East-West Parliamentary Practice Project (EWPPP), headquartered in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, is a nonprofit, nonpartisan nongovernmental organization founded in 1990 as a joint initiative of the European Cultural Foundation (NL) and the Ford Foundation (US)  with the aim of providing support for parliaments in the newly emerging democracies in Central/Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.

Since its founding, the EWPPP has worked with parliaments and local partner civic organizations in over 25 countries throughout Eastern/Southeastern Europe, Eurasia, and North Africa to promote transparency and accountability in governance and civic participation in the democratic process (see Activities and Countries for more information).


EWPPP and the Western Balkan Democracy Initiative (WBDI), its regional sister organization, have collaborated with NDI regional offices, OSCE representations and EU delegations in the countries in which it operates.

EWPPP partners include:

Albanian Centre for Human Rights (ACHR)

Centre for Democracy and Human Rights (CEDEM)

Centre for Democratic Transition (CDT)

Centre for Strategic Research and Documentation (FORUM)

Centers for Civic Initiatives (CCI)

Croatian Helsinki Committee for Human Rights (CHC)

East-West Consultancy Project (EWCP)

European Movement in Serbia (EMinS)

Free and Democratic Bulgaria Foundation (FDBF)

Foundation for Local Government Reform (FLGR)

Institute for Law and Public Policy (ILPP) in the Russian Federation

International Association of Business and Parliament

Institute for Development Policy (INDEP), Kosovo

Pro Democracy Association (APD)

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) National Governance Programme Kyrgyzstan


EWPPP funding comes from government and foundations in Europe and the United States. The EWPPP’s work has been made possible through support from, a.o.: The Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the European Union, the European Cultural Foundation (ECF), the Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, the Ford Foundation, The Rockefeller Brothers
Foundation, The German Marshall Fund, The King Baudouin Foundation
(Belgium and US).